Resolution Sunday

Clean thinking

If you’re anything like me, you think a lot! About…everything! My husband would know this better than anyone else. He’s always told me not to think too much.
But…how can you not?
If I just had a conversation with you, chances are an hour later I’m still thinking about what you said and if I can manage to find a hidden meaning behind your words. 😉
We all have thoughts that plague us. I know I tend to find myself staring at the ceiling some nights; unable to fall asleep.
This week, I’m making a resolution to pray about everything that goes through my mind. I know there are some thoughts that will last for a second, and I probably won’t even remember thinking them. But my worries and my recurring thoughts; I will resolve to give them up to God. He cares for me and I have to believe that it will make a difference.
I guess you could call it food for thought!
Jesus had His thoughts focused on the Father’s will…

“My food,” said Jesus, “is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work. (John 4:34 NIV)

My resolution is to feed my mind with the things of God. My husband recently took to memorising Philippians 4:8…

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. (Philippians 4:8 NIV)

His way of doing that was to write it up on our mini blackboard…

I’ve noticed just a little before that verse, the apostle Paul encourages us to bring our prayers, petition and requests to God. Guys, we can’t think on the things of God when we’re too busy being anxious about other things.
So clear the junk and think on the truth! I’m sure our lives would be much more pleasant if we resolved to speak to Him more and think on Him more…after all… What is noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent or praiseworthy more than Jesus Christ Himself?

Resolution Sunday… Clear the junk, feed on good thoughts.

20130825-212826.jpg

Leave a Reply

